Let Freedom Ring!

This past weekend was filled with fireworks, good food, great people and some fun in the sun. I spent the Fourth of July with my second family (Jarrett’s family) here in Oklahoma and it was a blast. I love these people. It is so nice to have such a great support system up here since my family is all the way back in North Texas. Speaking of my family, I cannot wait for football season because it means that I get to see them whenever OU has a home game! 🙂 

On Saturday, July 3rd, our neighborhood does a Fourth of July parade, fireworks show and gives away free snowcones. Come on people, free snowcones?! Life does not get much better than that. We grilled in the backyard and ate some DELICIOUS food. I heard that some people diet over the Fourth of July to stay in bikini shape. Girl, if you are out there, I’d like to meet you because I think you might be a little crazy. Let yourself indulge a little bit. Besides, hamburgers, hot dogs, mac salad, fruit and banana pudding, they’re good for your soul.

13557726_10206638522912487_1602287078525767719_n

It is important that I mention that the guy on the left. That’s Dustin. He is married to Jarrett’s sister Meagan. He makes the BEST banana pudding. We’ve really bonded over our love for anything banana. He also likes the state of Texas, so we have that in common too. Those are our sweet pups in the picture. Doesn’t it look like Georgie is just waiting to be crazy. Don’t be fooled. She is crazy, but she’s my kind of crazy and I love her.

13599850_1323411217688706_3448062401009253194_n

We are heading to watch the parade that takes place around the pond. See that lady in the gray? Yeah, that’s Jarrett’s mom. She is all kinds of wonderful and I am so lucky to have such a great relationship with her. That lady cannot wait to be a Nana. She’ll be an excellent one, but Jarrett and I are going to let Meagan and Dustin go first!

13590320_10206642105522050_5689595341389074988_n

This is my girl Meagan. She is not only Jarrett’s sister, but a friend of mine. I actually hung out with her before Jarrett and I even started dating. It was friendship at first sight. We bonded over our love of crafting, white wine (moscato to be exact) and shopping. She is great and I am so lucky to have her in my life. It feels like we’ve been friends forever. She is always including me in her outings with her mom and that’s so special to me. She’s a little bit sassy, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I dish it right back. She is the sister I always wanted. Love this sweet sister-friend of mine.

13606696_10206637271521203_67482987754469820_n

I’ve been told that finding the time to take pictures can be hard. I was told by someone that they barely have any pictures from their life. Oh, how sad I thought. That was the moment that I vowed not to be like that. I love taking pictures of my family and friends. They are little mementos that last a lifetime. You see that picture up there? I’d like to tell you that this is not how family pictures always go, but it is, especially when Georgie is involved. Oh Georgie. All mommy wanted was a sweet family picture on the Fourth of July and this is what we got instead, but you know what? This is us. This is who we are. We are constantly laughing and playing with Georgie and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Our life is all sorts of crazy, but it’s all mine and extremely special to me.

13585142_10206644085331544_6088174144305766139_o

On the actual Fourth of July, we headed over to Buck Thomas Park in Moore for their fireworks show. People, this is the best fireworks show I have ever seen. It is awesome. I loved every second of it. There is nothing like laying down on a blanket, listening to music and watching fireworks with the one that you love. It is all kinds of wonderful. Jarrett and I have some really great memories together over our time together, but this is one of my favorites. And this picture, is my favorite picture of us. It is so us. This is who we are. We are not fancy. We are t-shirts, shorts and a baseball cap. I love it. I love him. I love fireworks. I love it all. 

Well, that wraps up my holiday. It was one for the books! I hope yours was spent with family, friends and of course, fireworks.

xoxo-Sarah

Leave a Reply

