Happy Birthday Daddy!

Today, July 2nd, is a very special day in my book. It is my daddy’s birthday. My papa-doe. My pop. My champion, hero, confidant and biggest cheerleader. Yeah, it’s his birthday and I couldn’t be more happy to celebrate him. He is the best guy I know, and I’m not exaggerating. He is wonderful. They say that a baby girl’s first love is her daddy, and in my case, that is absolutely true. Pops and Sarah

He is the one that told me bed time stories and rubbed my back every night before I went to bed. He is the one that carried me to my bed (even in my late elementary years) when I fell asleep somewhere other than my room. He is the one that took me to work with him and let me play on his payroll machine and pretend to be his secretary.

Oldschool Sarah & Daddy

He is also the one that spent countless hours on the trampoline with me “sending me to the moon” or “cracking my egg.” He is the one that practiced bumping and setting with me until it got dark during my volleyball years. He caught me when I jumped in the pool and he taught me how to drive.

OU Old school pic

He taught me to always root for the sooners. He taught me to never give up on them during a game because there is something known as “sooner magic” and it runs strong. He taught me how to find treasure in a college town like Norman, Oklahoma. He taught me that hard work and persistence turns into something great and we got “happy-sad”together when I got my acceptance letter to OU.

Sarah and Daddy OU Football

He is the one that took me on ice cream dates, just the two of us. He is the one that came and helped me set up my room for my first year in third grade. He is the one that came and met my principal when I accepted my very first teaching job. Yeah, he’s that Dad and I couldn’t be happier. He is the one that took me to see “Sound of Music the Musical” in Fair Park, and to this day it is my favorite daddy-daughter date.

Sarah and Dad

He taught me never to settle for anything less than what I deserve. He set such a great example of how a man should act and treat a woman. He set the bar so high that I hadn’t found someone that I loved until I met Jarrett. He showed me what kind of man I should look for when I think about my future husband and the father of my children. He also taught me that when I found it I would just know and that I shouldn’t rush it. He taught me that it would happen when the time was right.

19

He spent many late nights with me finishing science projects, reading projects and teaching me another way to solve math problems. He did everything in his power to make sure I was going to succeed. He is my biggest fan. My biggest hero. My champion. 

13087559_10206241481706705_7885635165357181923_n

Dad, you are my hero. Thank you for everything that you have done for me. I could never name all the great and wonderful things I love about you because there are far too many. You are the first man I ever loved and no one can ever take your place in my heart. I wish I was there to celebrate with you today, but know that I will be celebrating you all the way in Oklahoma. You are the best Pops in the whole world. Thank you for sharing your love of Uncle Julio’s fajitas, swirls, m&m’s, football and ice cream with me. I love you, have the best birthday! You deserve it!

xoxo

Sarah

Leave a Reply

