Aloha 2015

Today is all about memories and the events and vacations that are so near and dear to my heart. When I think about the vacations that are most memorable, one that comes to my mind is when my family visited Kauai last summer. This vacation was important for many reasons. One of those was because, I honestly believe that this could be the last vacation that we take as a family of four. Jarrett and I are coming up on our two year anniversary and he has already become an important member of our family. My parents and brother adore him. Being away from him for almost three weeks was extremely hard. At some points it felt like I was never going to see him again, but that just made the reunion so much sweeter.

124

We were up bright and early that morning that we departed, and I’m talking 4:45 AM to catch our flight from DFW to Pheonix and then grab our connecting flight to Kauai. We were so excited that we could barely contain our excitement. What can I say? We are a bunch of beach bums, especially my brother John!

We couldn’t help but entertain ourselves with our favorite card game…ONZE! Wow, how we love that game. Don’t worry, I won!

Upon arrival, we got our rental car and off we went! This is a place where the beaches are beautiful, the weather is warm and the views from hiking are absolutely BREATHTAKING. There is nothing like it in the world. This beach girl loved every second of it. Kauai is known as the more “natural” island and I loved seeing chickens on the beach. That was a first! We had a wonderful time, and I was so glad that I got to spend this time with three people that helped shape the person I have become. My, how I love these three. Make sure to check out my favorites from the trip at the bottom of the page, but for now, Aloha!

PS- look at my cute parents. Can you believe they are celebrating 30 years of marriage tomorrow? Holy cow, there’s no way they can be that old! 😉

For this part of the trip, we stayed at the Grand Hyatt Kauai and boy, oh,  boy, they had the coolest toilets ever! I know that sounds funny, but they had a toilet that heated your bum! All jokes aside, it was gorgeous.

19

I just want everyone to know, I am a self-proclaimed daddy’s girl. Always have been, always will be. This man is incredible. I cannot say enough wonderful things about him. He is my champion and I’m proud of it. He makes me want to have Father’s Day everyday.

One morning I got to have breakfast and golf with just my daddy. What a fun morning that was. I absolutely love spending time with my Dad. There is no one in the world like him. I use to tell people that I wasn’t going to settle for a man that was not like my Dad. He has sacrificed so much for his family and I wish I could give him the world. I am so happy that he was able to golf in paradise, and of course, I am a one-of-a-kind caddy! 🙂

39 This boy right here is my brother John. He use to be the most annoying creature on the face of the earth to me, and then we grew up. Now, I am so happy to say that he is one of my best friends. I couldn’t do life without him and I am so lucky to have him as my brother. To his future wife- he cannot cook, he cannot seperate his laundry into colors and whites, but he can tell you every pick up line known to man so you must have a sense of humor. He is also the kindest and most genuine person. You better treat him right, because you are one lucky lady.

70

This is my Momma. She has the biggest heart for people. She rarely turns people away and has the best laugh in the entire world. It is actually contagious, and I’m serious. If she starts laughing her ‘momma laugh’ you better believe that you’ll start to laugh like her. I don’t know how it happens, but it does. My favorite thing about her is her laugh. I am really fortunate to have a Mom with a sense of humor. Afterall, she has some good looking kids. 😉

Exploring the island and having a grand ‘ol time doing it! Can you spot that awesome lighthouse in the distance? Fun Fact: I am a sucker for lighthouses. I think it happened when the movie ‘Yours, Mine & Ours’ came out.

Check out the views on this treacherous hike of the Napali Coast. It was dangerous, but so worth it. I have never seen anything like it. I’m so proud of my parents. It was a hard hike for someone in their 20s and they did it in their 50s! Holy moly, my parents rock!

Did I mention that we loved the lava flows? It is a scrumptious mix of a pina colada and strawberry daquari. It is the best concoction I have ever had. And in case you were wondering, John was just a few short months from turning 21, but Mom and Dad let him have a little fun. You’ve got to throw a dog a bone sometimes, right?!

It was a fantastic trip filled with crystal clear water, rainbow fish, waves, hammocks, sunsets, ice cream, fish tacos, lava flows and family fun in the sun. Kauai, you did not disappoint. We loved you.

Our Kauai favorites:

  • Food: Fish Tacos from Duke’s Canoe
  • Drink: Lava Flow (from anywhere 🙂 )
  • Hotel: The Grand Hyatt
  • Fruit: Pineapple (there is nothing like the real, fresh island kind)
  • Activity: Napali Coast hike
  • Beach: Tunnels Beach
  • Restaurant: The Dolphin

It was a great time. Hopefully we can make another trip back some day. If you haven’t been to the Hawaiian islands, put it on your bucket list. It is a must see!

xoxo,

Sarah

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

